Realtors: RETS feed v API |
- RETS feed v API
- Realtor in new location
- Marketing Luxury Listings to Asia Markets.. How to?
- Buyers requirements - how do you get these?
- NYS - Becoming a Broker
- Awesome Closing Gift
- Limits of obligation for agents who are part of Redfin's Partner Agent program
- Loan question
- 50/50 Partnerships - good or bad idea??
- Second phone number
- Owner occupied rental
- Selling agent won’t take conventional loan?
- Right Way to Recruit Agents?
- Experience with brokers/new services
- Booths at Bridal Fairs, Flea Markets, Craft Shows.....
- Anyone an eXp agent in California? [CA]
- Torn between two paths-- need advice
- Struggling in realtor class
- General questions on ct real estate sales person exam
- How do I split from my family brokerage? Has anyone gone through that and can give me advice?
- How important is it to “know the market” when talking to clients?
- Real estate as a possible career
| Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:02 AM PDT I want to pull more information from my MLS than what's available daily. Someone said that as the Broker for the company I can get a RETS feed or sign up for a Bridge API. I know little if anything about either. Can someone give me a quick and easy explanation on how this works and how I can get it? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:19 PM PDT Hey guys, so I'm newly licensed in Northern California but planning to relocate to San Diego in the next year. For any realtors who started "brand new" to an area how difficult was the transition for you? And how did it effect you in business? Etc. Just looking for other people's output/opinion on how to go about a change of location. [link] [comments] |
| Marketing Luxury Listings to Asia Markets.. How to? Posted: 28 Jul 2020 10:53 AM PDT Hey gang! We would like to open up some of our higher-end listings to the Asian markets. Doing some preliminary searches, I was able to find some websites, such as ist.juwai.com and us.myfun.com and some others, but I figured I would ask around to see if some of you have had success using these or any other platforms. What are you guys using? Thanks! [link] [comments] |
| Buyers requirements - how do you get these? Posted: 27 Jul 2020 08:16 PM PDT Hi folks, As somebody looking to understand the wider industry more to improve my offerings, how do you work with your clients to understand what sort of property they are looking to buy? Is there a standard method you use to capture all their requirements (budget, location, etc)? Does anyone use or recommend any software to work with clients? Or do most people just keep track of their requirements in Google Sheets or Excel ? I like to share my Google Sheets with clients to keep a running list of revisions / additions - makes for a collaborative experience. Keen to hear to learn or hear from others Thanks [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Jul 2020 05:12 AM PDT I've been looking into what it would take to become a broker, but would like some feedback on the best way to accomplish it. I do not hold any licenses related to Real Estate, however would like to be able to sell my own properties and list properties for friends/relatives, part-time, on a reduced commission basis. I do have experience in real estate as I've purchased and flat-fee listed my own properties in the past, leased commercial properties for my own businesses, etc. I am not trying to do real estate as a full-time job, as I have a good one already, however, I would like to have my brokerage license. I understand there are education requirements, which I am not worried about taking. Can anyone give me the best advice to go about this? I don't want to spend 2 years with a major realty brokerage pressuring me to sell a certain # of listings, etc. Any input into the matter is much appreciated! I am in New York State. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Jul 2020 08:21 PM PDT Hey gang - I have two closings Friday with a client who is buying and selling. The client has a religious holiday Friday that I'm not familiar with. Can anyone chime-in with thoughts about what would be appropriate for a closing gift for a client celebrating this holiday? My go-to closing gift is a nice bottle of wine/liquor and an abundant charcuterie basket, but not sure whether that would be appropriate in this case. [link] [comments] |
| Limits of obligation for agents who are part of Redfin's Partner Agent program Posted: 28 Jul 2020 03:24 AM PDT Not an agent but have a question about Redfin's effect on partner agents. Not associate agents. Scenario: I clicked Schedule Tour on a home. Apparently that assigned me to one of their Partner Agents. I decided I didn't want to keep looking at the time so the guy said he'd disconnect or unassign from me on Redfin. That's fine. A few weeks later, I was ready to look again and reached out to him directly instead if through Redfin. Since then he's been super helpful. Questions: Since he disconnected me on Redfin, is there any way for Redfin to know that I still went through him at a later date? Can we keep working outside of Redfin without any issues? Or do we have to be reassigned to one another again in Redfin? I think 30% of commission is a lot for him to give up to Redfin...which I think he more than earned his keep, but I also don't want him to get into any trouble either... [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:40 PM PDT Why do some sellers not accept certain loans, as in, I've seen that some will not accept the purchase of a house with an fha loan and I just saw a post of someone's buyer's agent telling his client the seller will not accept a conventional loan. If the loan amount given to the buyer equals the selling price why does the source of funds matter? [link] [comments] |
| 50/50 Partnerships - good or bad idea?? Posted: 27 Jul 2020 01:57 PM PDT Hello! I am currently set up to get my license in a few weeks. I decided to jump into real estate as a friend who's a very successful agent of 9 years wanted me to join his team. He agreed to be my mentor. We've now come to the conclusion we want to begin a new 50/50 partnership. As I help him with technology and marketing while he brings his regular business and contacts. He knows this means he's bringing in most business at first as I get started but over time it should balance out. He also thinks the help I can provide him will help increase his efficiency and time management so much it's worth the cut. Has anyone else entered into agreements like this? Any advice for or against it? Thanks! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Jul 2020 06:12 PM PDT I'm a new realtor and need to get a new number for my business. I don't want to use my personal phone number for obvious reasons. I have an iPhone 11 with dual sim capability. I don't know which route to go... I can either get a cheap ($20-25mo) unlimited talk and text esim line from one of the major carriers, or I can get a second line app. Does anybody have experience with either? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:14 PM PDT Quick question. I have my real estate license and I own a rental property. Do I need to disclose that I have my license when advertising a vacancy? Is there anything else important to do if I have a real estate license when advertising the property. Couldn't find anything about it online besides a bunch of buzzword articles about how house hacking is the best move ever. [link] [comments] |
| Selling agent won’t take conventional loan? Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:09 PM PDT |
| Posted: 27 Jul 2020 09:04 PM PDT I am with eXp (cue booing), and I just moved from WA to CA. I thought I could hammer out the real estate exam and get my license in a hurry. I was wrong. CA testing is shut down and I don't think I will be able to sell any homes until next year, and the budget is looking pretty tight with unemployment ending. I figure my best bet to make cash right now is referrals and recruiting. What could an agent bring to the table that might be helpful or slightly appealing? What are common questions about eXp that I could answer? How would you prefer to be approached (Phone, email text)? I understand this is a sensitive topic, and people really like their pitch forks, but I am really passionate about eating from now until I can sell homes again, so I would really appreciate help. [link] [comments] |
| Experience with brokers/new services Posted: 27 Jul 2020 09:02 PM PDT I just recently got my license and I have offers at both a traditional brokerage by Keller Williams or this new technology company I was referred to realtystreem.com Has anyone had experience with a heavy CRM based realtor group like this? It looks like they do most of the 1-to-1 interactions online. Wondering which will be easier to adapt to. [link] [comments] |
| Booths at Bridal Fairs, Flea Markets, Craft Shows..... Posted: 27 Jul 2020 02:50 PM PDT Has anyone has success setting up booths ? What do I put out other than my card and flyers if I dont have any listings? [link] [comments] |
| Anyone an eXp agent in California? [CA] Posted: 27 Jul 2020 04:33 PM PDT Rethinking my brokerage and I wanted to see what an eXp agent has to say about them. I have never used an all online brokerage. [link] [comments] |
| Torn between two paths-- need advice Posted: 27 Jul 2020 04:20 PM PDT Hey everyone, long post ahead, just a warning. I might add a TLDR. I'm 19 and recently got licensed in Florida. I'm with Century 21 right now. The issue here is that I'm also in college, in a pre-med program that I don't want to be in. I did it because my parents pressured me into it. It costs me to go to this school, which is 3 hours away from where I live. For reference I would be going to college for free if I had stayed at a closer school. Only reason I'm not doing that is because the school I ended up at has a "direct to med school" type of program that requires me to have a certain gpa in science classes. I'm worried that im not motivated enough to get the grades i need to not get kicked out. I really want to do real estate while in college, and i don't want to do this dumb pre-med thing. I'd rather just major in something like finance in a school close to home, while working. My family was very adamant about me doing this program (hard to say no), but if i try to transfer to a closer school or end up getting kicked out of the program, I'll be in deep trouble. It doesn't help that covid is limiting my ability to be in the office and learn the business. My plan was to work hard in real estate this summer, show my parents that I can be successful in real estate through dedication, and then convince them to let me leave the school im in. Looks like that won't be happening now. Any advice from someone with similar experience? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Jul 2020 07:40 PM PDT I'm struggling to pass my practice exams in class and it's depressing. I do pretty well on the practice tests in the book, but when we have practice exams on our virtual classes, I struggle and I haven't passed one yet. I've reached out to my instructor for help, but she doesn't seem too worried yet. Are there any resources you'd reccomend to get through class? I think my study skills need improvement (I study a lot, but sometimes maybe not effectively). [link] [comments] |
| General questions on ct real estate sales person exam Posted: 27 Jul 2020 06:06 PM PDT I'm taking the exam in like 3 weeks and was wondering if anyone had any tips to study better or what should I expect to see on the exam in terms of math and questions in general [link] [comments] |
| How do I split from my family brokerage? Has anyone gone through that and can give me advice? Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:05 PM PDT TL;DR: I am very seriously considering leaving my family's poorly managed brokerage and I'm having a ton of anxiety and anguish over this decision. I wonder if anyone here has been in the same boat and can help me understand how it was for you, what drove you away, how did you accomplish it emotionally and physically, and what it was like after. About Me: My grandfather's small (one office) family brokerage has been around since the 70s and after high school I didn't want to work in real estate at all, I received an education in computer programming and decided I could sell part time to help pay for college since they would be able to help me out. Once I graduated, I was finding my job prospects to be unexciting, not paying well, and didn't like working in the field I was educated in for the people I did find some work for. So I fell on my backup and started selling full time while keeping my job prospects open. The great recession hits and we pull through, trim the fat, and we make it out practically unscathed. Then I get decently good at it, I get awards, great sales, best sales at the company, become a leader in the local and state Realtor associations, and after 10+ years, here I am. I don't love it, but it can be rewarding financially and otherwise, I've made an impact in our market, I am very confident in my work, plus it's not too difficult for me to make sales and at this point business just comes to me. Every situation is different, here's where I am with mine. The book that follows is the summary, I promise. You probably don't want to know all this or even care, so most of this is just me anonymously venting to thousands of colleagues. Our company has 20+ agents, most of them aren't family. About 3 of them are full time and making anything meaningful, all of those are family members, and the company doesn't seem to be making good decisions that attract any good agents at all. We get some new agents off the street, help them get going, as soon as they see any success, they run to the next company. I can't say I blame them. Our split is 50% (for family too) and there's never been any options to get more than that, but we also don't charge any fees. So, they are spending countless hours training new agents with a limited staff, that probably cost more than they make for us (no one here knows how much an agent really costs us), not giving them any goals to scale their business, and not willing to entertain adapting for anything. They spend way too much of their time hand-holding the agents that are the least producing and the biggest liabilities. The broker, my father, says he can't give up more split because the brokerage isn't making anything, and I've looked at the books, it's true, they are barely profitable and I can see why. It does seem like most brokerages that I look into aren't really making making a ton of money compared to the work they are putting in, but at 50%? Come on! Now, I'm not really involved in management, I do have some pull, but my ideas are mostly passed over. No one is willing to put real effort or work into improving the company, just going about the usual, putting band-aids on everything. Just the thought of stepping in and rolling up my sleeves and building on what is already there is incredibly overwhelming because I have to fix everything first. We operate like it's still the 70s but with computers. There's no money spent on advertising and our image is small but a longtime staple of the community, mostly unknown for sales, and people pigeonhole us into a particular small sector of the market. It's limiting my success and it's hard to break that mold that's been set for almost 50 years. There's no meaningful training that grows anyone's business. There's very little to no ideas and innovation coming from outside the company. It's a culmination of so many years of bad management, no planning, bad marketing, no real developing anything to gain any real market share. Other companies that started around the same time have multiple offices all around the state and franchises have taken the lion's share of the local market and we have barely grown. There's no vision and no direction. I offered to step into management if they hired a consultant to help us develop a strategic plan to discover our issues and build a business plan. They were on board except no one wanted to do any work and they didn't like that I wanted to have something for stepping in and doing the work. I asked for the previous generation that are mostly not involved day to day to distribute some of their shares to the next generation that are involved. They'd rather have more of nothing than less of more because it would shift ownership to my dad's family who are involved. (I have to blame my dad who drove family members away with his temper). I don't get it, I wouldn't want to own a small barely struggling to stay alive business unless I was there everyday trying to make it work. Then there's the split. If I was with another broker, I would have made at least 20% more last year including all the fees. I don't want to spend much on my listings or building my business because I am not able to afford it. Then there's the strained relationships. I have to admit that I don't make it easy to work with me, but I also keep to myself. Stepping in and trying to get involved creates so much drama that it's not worth it. For the most recent example, I started a lead generation website and instead of hording it for myself, I set up the agents in the company to receive leads. It's not great, gets a few leads a week, but there's no advertising spent on it. I then get accused of stealing leads and having the advantage and pretty soon the whole office thinks this is true when it honestly wasn't, as the "site owner" my number was defaulted, but I seriously doubt I received any extra leads from it. Regardless, 100% of my business I can trace exactly where it came from. It's like this for everything, I don't even want to go to the office anymore because I get nothing but anxiety while I'm there. If I am there, I'm asked to fix every little technical glitch that comes up in a day, or ask me how to use an email, or why the printer says "PC LOAD LETTER". If I do show up to the pointless weekly sales meetings, and I try to get involved in the conversation, I get drama. They won't spend any money to make the small space more conducive to work in or expand it, so I just stopped going in, I'm more productive at home and it's way less stressful. I can't get away from the drama from home though and I'm seeing less and less future there at this point. I am struggling with the idea of leaving. Like full on "getting divorced" anguish. I do love my family, I feel like leaving would put a huge wedge in our already troubled relationships, if not break them completely. I know my business and our household income would definitely improve and I think working with a company that just has their shit together would help my anxiety. I'd have far less of a support system for when I do need something and they are there, but it's not like I can call on them to help me move furniture or anything. Am I just too comfortable? I wonder though, if it would make things better personally when business is out of the way. I feel like my foot's already halfway out the door and one of them is trying to push the door closed behind me while the others are saying "don't leave" unenthusiastically. If you've been in my shoes, what did you decide? If you left the family business, even if it wasn't this bad, how was it during and after? Do I just have a bad case of the grass is greener? Does anyone have any helpful insight after reading my woes? I'd love your feedback and advice, even if it's to tell me to get a grip. [link] [comments] |
| How important is it to “know the market” when talking to clients? Posted: 27 Jul 2020 04:58 PM PDT I'm licensed, and I think I the most repeated question I get is, "so - how's the market?" I like to listen to local public radio and get the local business pubs. Where do you turn for market info and local news? What do you need to know in order to be (or appear to be) successful, in the "know", or reputable? [link] [comments] |
| Real estate as a possible career Posted: 27 Jul 2020 02:15 PM PDT I've been looking to change careers and have been considering becoming a real estate agent. I've looked up all the requirements to get in licensed in my state so I know what it takes to do that. I just don't want to spend all the time and money to getting my license and become one of the of the ones who fail in the first couple years. Would you reccomend this as a career? Especially for someone who is on the introverted side of things? I've also thought about an getting a business degree. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from News and Ideas for Realtors. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment